Milking Katie

Katie is the name of a lovely Saanen milking goat that we had the pleasure of milking for an entire week at Atamai a few weeks back.

This was a really lovely way to start our summer mornings. We would get up at 7am, pack Will and ourselves into the car and pop over to Te Mara to milk Katie (and also feed the turkeys and chickens and collect the eggs). Each day I did a little better, getting a little more milk and in less time. Katie was a complete darling of a goat who was very patient with me and just so adorable. I only waisted one days milking when it fell out of the car all over the ground – and don’t you dare make the joke >( I was a very unhappy camper that morning (it didn’t help that my hot chocolate that I’d purchased on the way turned out to be a mocha! Really not what you want when your all worked up for the chocolate delight).

And these lovely lasses are yearlings and will be joining the milking seen in a little while, the decision is being made as to whether we get a milking machine or milk all 4 with people power.

We haven’t really had much of a garden at our current place, but we have had quite a lot of success with our tomatoes. We’ve had enough tomatoes for the past few weeks to have them fresh or oven roasted, in pastas and even enough to take as part of a pot-luck lunch with still loads leftover. Not really enough for bottling though.

I almost forgot to mention, Fiona and I turned the milk from Katie into fetta, some in oil and some in brine, sooo good! Last time I made fetta I wasn’t able to eat it (unpasturized and I was pregnant) but this time I fully enjoyed the experience.

2 responses

  1. So good to hear from you Tracey, but I know you’ve been very busy these days. Great photos, especially the last one! We have goats on our horizon with milking soon to follow…..

  2. So good to hear from you Tracey, but I know you’ve been very busy these days. Great photos, especially the last one! We have goats on our horizon with milking soon to follow…..
    +1

Leave a Reply

