Australian Bush Fires

A few days ago a friend sent me an email about her labour experience, at the end of it she mentioned “so hearing that Kinglake has virtually been wiped from the map and that there are fires in St Andrews and Kangaroo Ground must be difficult”. I had no idea what she was talking about so quickly jumped online to check out The Age newspaper. I quickly discovered that it wasn’t just the area we had once lived next door to that was being devastated but also the area surrounding my parents property, areas I’d grown up in. I called my parents and they tried to reassure us that they were fine, they had everything under control and the fires wouldn’t come near them. It didn’t make us feel any better.

I don’t want to go into the details of the fires and deaths, it’s too hard and I keep crying and feeling useless so instead I want to leave you with a photo a friend posted on her LJ that I’ve just found very poignant. Koala’s are not friendly cuddly animals, they are shy, they sleep during the day and they have very sharp claws and will protect themselves if necessary. 

There has been so much death and destruction, humans and animals have lost their homes and lives, and most of a result of certain individuals who think fire is fun or pretty or are just simply sick and twisted individuals. 

There are loads of ways you can help if you wish, many more options if you are actually in Australia but even if your not and you want to help you can buy items from the Etsy Oz Bushfire Appeal. All items have been donated to the appeal and so far they have raised over $2000 AUD to help.

3 responses

  1. I have heard about this devastation from our news broadcasts. I’ve thought about folks from there that I know thanks to the Internet, but didn’t realize your connection. My heart has already gone out to those who have been affected by this, and now it reaches out to you as well.

Leave a Reply

