What’s happening on the farm

I finally got some better photos of our lovely animals.

And yesterday Buffie discovered where the geese are laying their eggs and we took about 8 eggs from one of the two nests. It made a lovely japanese style omelette to go with our dinner last night. The eggs are HUGE by the way, about the size of 3 or 4 large chicken eggs at least. They don’t seem to have the greasy feel of duck eggs which I’m very glad about. We still aren’t sure exactly what breed of geese they are so if anyone has some idea please let me know.

We are now thinking of getting in a drake and a gander so that we can start breeding up the birds for dinner.

We are also still working on what breed of chickens, roosters and ducks we have. We think the ducks might be pekin ducks. What ever they are I think they are lovely. I’m pretty certain that at least 3 of our chickens are brown shavers. I want to get some dog houses for the ducks and geese to lay their eggs in so that it’s easier for us to find them and hopefully when we get in the boys it will be nice and cozy for the babies we hope to get.

I’ve finished clearing out another of the overgrown raised beds and planted it with potatoes, Craig has made a start on another one and Buffie has been collecting load after load of horse poo and piling it nicely around the fruit trees as well as clearing back kaikua that has started to straggle a lot of the trees.

The greenhouse is certainly working out wonderfully (and was the only warm and dry place out in the gardens for most of the day yesterday). I’ve gotten in a few bags of compost, garden mix and sand to mix up my own seed raising mix. I’ve followed Kay Baxter’s advice and I’ve combined equal parts of dirt, compost and sand (one day I dream of the dirt and compost coming from our own gardens, but right now we have mud and a stunning looking compost pile that is at least 6 months away from cooked). This combo is in one container and into another I’ve started to sieve the mix. It’s a long process, especially because the bags of soil and compost were a little damp, but the end result is a lovely fine mix that I’m really happy with. So far I have the following seeds/seedlings growing:

  • Cannelloni beans (now seedlings just about ready to plant)
  • Borlotti beans (just sewn)
  • Slenderette beans (just sewn)
  • Chinese cabbage (seedlings that I’ve now thinned out into containers for friends, they are all ready to be planted now I think)
  • Rocket (yummy and ready to be planted out into the garden, I’ve also thinned them for friends)
  • Another lettuce (Silvia or Silvide?)
  • Mixed Basil (thai, cinnamon, lemon and purple)
  • Broccoli (just sewn)
I’m thinking I’ll sew the carrot seeds into the bed Craig is preparing and see how they go. We’ve decided to plant out a lot of these things into the “perennials” bed this season, the land is just so wet and the rain isn’t looking like easing any time soon so we just can’t do anything towards the main plots for at least a few more months. It is nice to see a little progress happening, even if it is slowly.
One response

  1. My husband grew up on a chicken farm. The minute we moved to the house where we raised our 3 children, his parents sold the farm. Because we had more than 4 acres we decided to get “a few chickens” Over the years the numbers varied from 5 to 50 and we frequently had new breeds. Your rooster looks like many of our chickens did. They were cross breeds of many varieties. Of course I can’t tell from the picture how big he is, and we often had breeds of bantams mixed in. I just found your blog and found it very interesting. I plan to return. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

