Navajo Plying

I’ve been playing with navajo plying today, plying one of my white singles as a test run. I’d like to use this technique to spin up the wool a dyed a few weeks ago as I only had 1 bobbins worth, I’m hoping there will be enough for a pair of fingerless gloves. The benefits for using navajo plying include:

 

  1. I only have 1 bobbin to work with
  2. No wastage
  3. The colours will stay spread out rather then blend together more
I’m told that this does make for a slightly weaker yarn then if it was a normal 3 ply, but I’m cool with that. My test yarn seems to be strong enough, it’s currently drying after being washed and and whacked.
And pictures:
Close up of Navajo ply you can see some of the loupe like structures in here (I think that’s from where I’ve started new loupes.) One of the things I found with this was that when your yarn is good and strong plying is a dream, if you have week points in the yarn then it’s a real bitch to ply as it breaks and you have to rejoin the yarn – which is kinda messy if you ask me.
Hanging to dry hanging out to dry.
And last but not least, a photo of the 1 completed Craig sock:
Completed sock I’m really rather pleased with myself. I’ve finished the ribbing on the second sock but I’m afraid it’s been almost a week since I’ve picked it up to knit since *bad me* I did take it with me on a few occasions, only to discover that (as usual) I had left the fourth dpn at home! I was really expecting this to be a lot harder then it was to do.
I’ve been making more bread this week also with great results. I’ve turned the fan off in the over, going for a hotter oven with a bowl of water in with it, this gives a MUCH softer crust which is fantastic. I really didn’t like the hard crust on the first batch of bread. I’ve found that my recipe does 2 large loaves and 6 rolls (which I burnt the tops of because I had them way to close to the top of the oven and forgot about them).
I’ve also had my loom out this week and finished off a small section – about half an hour or so worth of weaving, not much, but at least it’s something. I really want this project off the loom so I can start on my dishcloths, but I must finish it, even if it doesn’t motivate me. I’m using short lengths of weft so about ever second turn I have to start a new length, it’s just tedious. The fabric itself will like nice when it’s done though I think.
What else… Craig is busy in the garden when he can get a chance, planting broad beans, garlic and onions, building raised beds and generally getting his hands dirty. The driveways are being poured, the guys have been busy, not as busy as some of us would like and the seem to have a fear of getting damp, but certainly things are progressing and more then halfway finished. I’d say providing it doesn’t pour down rain everyday, they should be completely finished by the end of next week – yay! Earthsong is really starting to look less and less like a building sight and more and more like lush eco-neighbourhood. 

 

3 responses

  1. I enjoy your blog and pictures. I have trouble with navajo plying because my yarn overtwists in the ply for some reason. Yours looks great!
    Alice

  2. Hi Alice, I was finding the same thing, but only with sections of my yarn. I was wondering if maybe that was overspun originally, I did find that playing with the tension on the drive band and the tension band helped somewhat. Having my tension tighter then I would expect helps. Normally I have it tight enough that it pulls the yarn through to the bobbin but that I can also pull it back out with ease. For navajo plying I’m finding it should be too tight to pull out easily.

    I’m also finding that I have to keep my tension when pulling through a new loop, and sending it towards the orifice, it sometimes bulges a little, I think because the twist hasn’t made it all the way to that spot – if that makes any sense.

    Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂

  3. Hi,

    I’ve wanted to learn how to navajo ply for a long time and finally found a video on YouTube that was excellent. My finished product looks great but is so full of tension that is twists up on itself as I take it off the bobbin.

    Is some of that to be expected? If I just pull a bit of yarn out, it usually is okay and not too kinky.

    I really love this approach and want to master it. And suggestions would be appreciated.

    Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

