Crochet Bags onion & garlic bags

When you harvest onions and garlic you can braid the tops together and hang them out to dry, you can leave them like this, or, you can place them in a net bag. With this thought in mind I’ve decided to try my hand at crocheting a bag for this purpose. I’ve picked up a role of Cotton Twine (500 grams, 330 mtrs) for about $30 at Mitre 10 (hardware shop). Using the Market Bag pattern from Lion Brand, and a 5.5mm crochet hook I’ve started. I’m finding the twine to be only a little harder then wool, but it holds the shape well and is fairly easy to work with.

The roll of twine does smell a little and so I’ll definitely being giving the bag a good wash before I use it. As soon as I find my ruler I’ll let you know what the wraps per inch of the twine is and upload a few photos once I have something a little interesting to show for my efforts.

Award In other news, I got a very nice surprise from Leigh’s fiber journal, with a “You make my day award”, Awarded to blogs that give “inspiration and happiness”. I do believe I’m supposed to now mention up to 10 other blogs that do the same for me. Like Leigh I’m not much into memes and so on but this one did make me smile and feel all warm and fuzzy that someone not only reads my blog, but appreciates it’s content. So thank you Leigh for the award and I’d like to share some of my favorite blogs.

These blogs remind me that I’m not alone in blogging my craft and tidbits of my life. They are always full of wonderful projects and adventures and help to keep me motivated and interested in living a creative life.

2 responses

  1. Thank you so much! I had no real idea anyone even read it:>. You have made my entire week! Now I’m going to go make up a list of blogs following your example. Alyclepal:>

  2. Pingback: Spincerely yours, » The Spinner’s Hour and Other Things

Leave a Reply

