Further experiments with felt

I’ve been playing around with more felting techniques, specifically needle felting. I made my first little needle felted person:

Felted Man

and a crocodile:

Crocodile

these were both done with different techniques (sorry I forgot to take photos). The little man has a wire frame body that I built it up with carded fleece and the crocodile I made by simply getting a cookie cutter and stuffing it with carded fleece and took at it with the felting needle (specifically designed VERY sharp barbed needles that really hurt when they go into your fingers instead of the wool).

I followed the instructions from this website for making the felted man, they also have patterns and instructions for a few other things like a bear and an alpaca. The instructions, in my opinion, are written for people who have a little experience with needle felting and aren’t strictly for beginners.

I’m thinking of making several felted animals, like the crocodile, for baby toys, mobiles, that sort of thing. This idea came from a video I watched on youtube for making small felted items with a stencil for card decorations. I simply improved on the stencil idea by using a cookie cutter and kept packing in the felt as I needled, turning it over as I went.

I also tried to make a pair of wet felted booties using instructions from peak.org. The theory is sound enough and I have seen it work, mine however, were a complete failure and didn’t hold together at all. I think this was more due to me rushing through the process rather then any fault in the instructions. I also think that I overlapped too much felt at the edges. Another source for instructions and patterns for wet felted boots for bigger feet can be found here.

I really want to share this video I foun, also on youtube, featuring the Mongolians felt making process, from sheep to yurt cover, I found it fascinating.

One response

  1. Pingback: Needle Felting « Locoexw’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

