How to warp a rigid heddle loom

There is no point in me doing another page on warping a rigid heddle loom when I have just found a perfectly good page in All Fiber Arts with all the info. This is the same way I warped up my first few projects and works well if you are doing projects like a scarf or you are able to setup your peg a good distance from the back of your loom (a few meters) but can be a pain in the but to walk back and forth across the room (but good exercise) and can cause problems getting the tension right when winding on.

To that end, and due to the disaster of the cloak, I decided I wanted other warping options. I browsed the net for a while and decided that ultimately I  would like a warping board. I’m going to have a go at making a warping board I found at In the wood shop. There are fully illustrated instructions on this sight but you still need to know your way around a wood shop to build this frame.In the wood shop warping board Note that this sight is American and so measurements are in yards and inches (1 yard = 91cm). This project is going to require me poking Craig and distracting him from his projects but he loves me 😉

This is going to be a little ways off so in the mean time I decided to make some warping pegs. 5 minutes later I was in the workshop and with in a few hours I had created 2 sets of 3 warping pegs, 2 single warping pegs and a frame to put spools of wool on to assist with easier warping (sort of like cotton spool holders on an over-locker).

I used a drill press with a spade bit to cut the holes in the wood for the dowel rods, the holes are smaller then the wood for a tight fit,

Warping pegs then I whittled down the ends of the dowel to taper them,

whittleing the ends  popped in some glue and hit them with a wooden mallet.

Making warping pegs Finally (and I should have done this first), I sanded the dowel rods a little and rounded off the tops.

warping tools

the spool holder has two pegs with a hole above each peg to feed the wool through. I still need to either find very small clamps to clamp the warping pegs to a table or to make some, which would require an “L” shaped partially threaded piece of metal, drilling a hole into each peg base, a couple of washers and a little piece of wood on the “L” (the Ashford pegs have a clamp like this)

My next weaving project, oddly, is another woodworking one, I’d like to make a stand for my loom. I’d like one that can be folded down and slid under the couch or a cabinet or stored in a cupboard (if I had one), sort of concertina style. It would mean that when I have a project on the go I can just leave it on the stand and move it around to wherever I want to sit and when I’m not going to use the loom for a bit I can store the stand away.

5 responses

  1. Hello, Im wondering if you could help me. I’d like to make my own wapring frame, but can not find any instructions on how to make one. Unfortunatley the link you have, ‘In the wood shop warping board’ is no longer running. Could you please give me any more info about where I could find instructions or any kind of dimmensions. Thank you for your help llio

  2. I took a 1″x8:x8′ board, Drilled pairs of 1″ holes every foot.
    Three permanent dowels at one end, 6″ apart, then two removable dowels placed as needed.
    Lay board flat on table or waist high, yarn cone/spool/ball on floor.
    Warps from 1 yard to 4 yards in 1 foot increments.

    • Make sure your dowels are really tight and snug, even a little wiggle can cause serious disasters for your warp, and a peg falling out just when your nearing the end of a warp seriously sucks 😉

Leave a Reply

